101 Birmingham Councillors urge Foreign Secretary & UN to intervene on Genocide of Rohingya People in Burma

On Sunday, 21st June 2015, nearly 1,000 Brummies of all faith and no faith, attended a peaceful demonstration organised by the Rohingya Solidarity Movement in Chamberlain Square to show solidarity towards the Rohingya community who are suffering at the hands of the Burma authorities.

At this event, a number of elected Birmingham Councillors committed to making representation to the Foreign Secretary, Rt Hon Phil Hammond MP to seek intervention from the United Nations Security Council in Burma.

Today, a letter signed by 101 Labour, Conservative and Liberal Democrat Councillors from Birmingham has been sent to the Foreign Secretary:

Rt Hon Philip Hammond MP
The Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs
King Charles Street

Dear Mr Philip Hammond,

Re: Genocide of Rohingya People in Burma

We, the undersigned, elected representatives of Birmingham City Council, request our Government to convene a special session of the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) to lobby members of the UNSC and sponsor a draft resolution demanding the following:

  • Government of Burma must change the law to allow citizenship to Rohingya people.
  • Allow unrestricted access to United Nations (UN) investigators to report on the scale of violence and killing carried out against Rohingya people.
  • Government of Burma must allow UN peace-keeping force as applied in other parts of the world where conflicts and genocide have taken place.
  • To arrest and try those responsible for instigating violence against Rohingya people.
  • Allow Non-Government Organisations and charities to enter Burma and to operate without harassment and intimidation from local extremists and the Burmese military.
  • Ensure children of Rohingya people are entitled to receive education.
  • UNSC to set a deadline on the demands laid out by the tabled resolution or Burma face the possibility of sanctions.
  • UNSC to call on neighbouring countries to do more to help Rohingya people fleeing persecution. All countries must ensure Rohingyas at refugee camps are protected from traffickers and criminals gangs from harming women and children.

For any further information, please do not hesitate to contact us. Thanking you in anticipation.

Yours truly,

Sir Albert Bore Ladywood Lab Group Leader
Robert Alden Erdington Con Group Leader
Paul Tilsley CBE Sheldon LibDem Leader
Muhammad Afzal Aston Lab
Uzma Ahmed Bordesley Green Lab
Mohammed Aikhlaq Bordesley Green Lab
Deirdre Alden Edgbaston Con
Nawaz Ali South Yardley Lab
Tahir Ali Nechells Lab
Sue Anderson Sheldon LibDem
Gurdial Singh Atwal Handsworth Wood Lab
Mohammed Azim Sparkbrook Lab
Caroline Badley Quinton Lab
Susan Barnett Billesley Lab
David Barrie Sutton New Hall Con
Vivienne Barton Bartley Green Con
Bob Beauchamp Erdington Con
Matt Bennett Edgbaston Con
Steve Booton Weoley Lab
Barry Bowles Hall Green Lab
Randal Brew OBE Northfield Con
Mick Brown Tyburn Lab
Alex Buchanan Billesley Lab
Sam Burden Hall Green Lab
Andy Cartwright Longbridge Lab
Tristan Chatfield Oscott Lab
Zaker Choudhry South Yardley LibDem
Debbie Clancy Northfield Con
John Clancy Quinton Lab
Lynda Clinton Tyburn Lab
John Cotton Shard End Lab
Ian Cruise Longbridge Lab
Basharat Dad Stechford & Yardley North Lab
Barbara Dring Oscott Lab
Jerry Evans Springfield LibDem
Mohammed Fazal Springfield Lab
Mick Finnegan Stockland Green Lab
Matthew Gregson Quinton Lab
Paulette Hamilton Handsworth Wood Lab
Andrew Hardie Sutton Vesey Con
Roger Harmer Acocks Green LibDem
Barry Henley Brandwood Lab
Penny Holbrook Stockland Green Lab
Des Hughes Kingstanding Lab
Jon Hunt Perry Barr LibDem
Mahmood Hussain Lozells & East Handsworth Lab
Mohammed Idrees Washwood Heath Lab
Zafar Iqbal South Yardley Lab
Ziaul Islam MBE Aston Lab
Kerry Jenkins Hall Green Lab
Brigid Jones Selly Oak Lab
Josh Jones Stockland Green Lab
Nagina Kauser Aston Lab
Tony Kennedy Sparkbrook Lab
Ansar Ali Khan Washwood Heath Lab
Changese Khan Selly Oak Lab
Mariam Khan Washwood Heath Lab
Narinder Kaur Kooner Handsworth Wood Lab
Chaman Lal Soho Lab
Mike Leddy Brandwood Lab
Bruce Lines Bartley Green Con
Keith Linnecor Oscott Lab
Majid Mahmood Hodge Hill Lab
Ewan Mackey Sutton Trinity Con
Karen McCarthy Selly Oak Lab
James McKay Harborne Lab
Gareth Moore Erdington Con
Yvonne Mosquito Nechells Lab
Brett O’Reilly Northfield Lab
John O’Shea Acocks Green Lab
Eva Phillips Brandwood Lab
Jess Phillips Longbridge Lab
Robert Pocock Sutton Vesey Lab
Victoria Quinn Sparkbrook Lab
Hendrina Quinnen Lozells & East Handsworth Lab
Chauhdry Rashid Nechells Lab
Habib Rehman Springfield Lab
Carl Rice Ladywood Lab
Fergus Robinson Edgbaston Con
Gary Sambrook Kingstanding Con
Valerie Seabright Kings Norton Lab
Rob Sealey Bournville Con
Shafique Shah Bordesley Green Lab
Mike Sharpe Tyburn Lab
Sybil Spence Soho Lab
Claire Spencer Moseley & Kings Heath Lab
Stewart Stacey Acocks Green Lab
Ron Storer Kingstanding Con
Martin Straker Welds Moseley & Kings Heath Lab
Sharon Thompson Soho Lab
Karen Trench Perry Barr LibDem
Lisa Trickett Moseley & Kings Heath Lab
Anne Underwood Sutton Four Oaks Con
Anita Ward Hodge Hill Lab
Ian Ward Shard End Lab
Mike Ward Sheldon LibDem
Fiona Williams Hodge Hill Lab
Ken Wood Sutton New Hall Con
Alex Yip Sutton New Hall Con
Waseem Zaffar Lozells & East Handsworth Lab

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>